First impressions of Turtle Beach X11’s.

So, I recently unboxed my Turtle Beach X11’s, which I ordered for my Let’s Plays.
My first impression was… Actually fairly nonexistent. They are much more complicated to set up and work that my previous headsets, which have all been as simple as plugging them into the around socket near the “on” button of my TV, so it took a while to get them working.

Cables must be plugged into the back of the TV, a green thing must be plugged into another green thing, and you have to work out how to get the sound to not come out of the TV. I’ve no idea what the pink plug is for, but they work without it. Having discovered that you have to turn the TV volume to zero, I’ve now had time to play a couple of games and listen to some music with them.

They fit fairly comfortably over my ears, however, were my hair shorter, I would likely be unable to wear them as the dry, foamy material of the earphones and mic sets off my tactile sensory issues pretty heavily.

The wire is extremely long; Even with it tangled up, I can rise, walk across my room and get some batteries for my controller without even a threat of tugging.
Combined with the small box near one’s hand that adjusts game volume, chat volume and if the microphone is muted, these are very convenient to use, not even requiring you to use your TV remote.

Aesthetically, I quite like them. They have a solid look, with a pleasing mix of white and black. They’re not works of art, but I don’t really expect that out of headphones.

I was somewhat suprised by the sound quality: These sound somewhat flatter and less rich than my previous headphones. This is mainly noticable when listening to drum-heavy music, in this case, Nightwish, who are favourites of mine. The sound is still within acceptable conditions for enjoying even the most drum-heavy music, however.

While I haven’t had a chance to use the microphone yet, it’s very adjustable, mounted on a length of some odd material that bends in any direction. It currently resides behind my left earphone, out of sight until I need it. Assuming you’re not hearing-impaired, you’ll be able to hear it when I start doing Let’s Plays, which I’ll list here in a dedicated post once they begin.

Overall, I’d say these are great gaming headphones, and they’re fairly affordable, at 30 to 50 pounds, but if you want something that makes music sound amazing, these won’t be for you.

About chassisbird

Chassisbird is autistic, trans, a survivor of abuse, possibly gray-asexual, queer, polyromantic and very into D/s. It uses it/hir pronouns, tends towards apathy and would like to resemble a spider much more closely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

