I address memes, #1.

This a facebook meme I stumbled across. It’s also the kind of reading that gives me contempt for humanity.

****

“Here’s to all the real men and women out there”

Oh, No True Scotsman fallacy, how I haven’t missed you.

“Boys and girls play house. Men and women build homes!!!”

One wonders how this is defining “build homes”. It’s probably not physically building a house (or other dwelling) from materials, as most reposters probably couldn’t do such a thing, not being builders. It could simply refer to having a home, but a home is typically seen as simply a dwelling you own and in which you are comfortable, which doesn’t need to be built by you. I’m honestly perplexed as to what this means, but it’s pretty fucked up, given the existence of homeless people. 

“Boys and girls make babies.”

This was when I realized that the whole thing was pulling ageist bullshit. The logic of this seems to be: Children can be irresponsible and so on. Therefore, irresponsible people are children. 

It’s invalid. 

Allow me to demonstrate: Religious people who speak in tongues are impossible for me to understand. Therefore, people impossible for me to understand are religious people who speak in tongues. Autistic people often like routine. Therefore, anyone who sticks to a routine is autistic. I could go on, but you probably get the idea. You can equate any group with any other group based on this.

“Men and women raise children!!!”

This assumes that everyone who impregnates someone or is pregnant and for whatever reason doesn’t get an abortion has the capability and the inclination to raise children. That’s frankly untrue. I can’t even take care of a cactus, and I’m not even required to give that cactus an emotion I don’t have, touching that isn’t natural to me or time outside of the quiet, safe, routine-ruled places that don’t put great strain on my ability to resist meltdowns.

“A boy or girl won’t raise their own children. A man or woman will raise their children and someone else’s.”

So, not only are rape survivors who couldn’t/wouldn’t get abortions and didn’t want to raise a child who reminded them of being raped every damn’ day demoted to the level of children by this ageist bullshit, but one is required to pass the standards of Kyriarchial adoption agencies to qualify as an adult? 

“Boys and girls invent excuses for failure. Men and women produce strategies for success!!!”

And people who do neither vanish in a puff of smoke, apparently. 
More importantly, what are we even supposed to be being successful at? I’m successful at damaging my body on a regular basis. My brother was successful at fucking me up when I was a child. Are we just supposed to be successful at something the reposter approves of? Anything? Everything? What if we’re successful without a strategy, like if we just made it up up as we went along or were talented?

“Boys and girls look for somebody to take care of them. Men and women take care of themselves”

Again, presumably people who can’t care for themselves, are shamed out of looking for a way to survive by bullshit like this and proceed to fail to care for themselves and end up dead or worse simply vanish in a puff of smoke. If only I’d stayed one of those people, I could see what it’s like. Sadly, I’m just a regular old mundane kind of persyn who can’t care for hirself, so instead I get the exact same thing only with external disgust promoted by shit like this replacing internal shame and no magic puff of smoke.

“Boys and girls seek popularity. Men and women command respect and know how to give it!”

Yeah, that’s definately a death-knell of my chances to qualify according to this, as if we didn’t have enough already. You ever tried being respected as someone a mite less… Privileged? 

No, I didn’t think so. 

About chassisbird

Chassisbird is autistic, trans, a survivor of abuse, possibly gray-asexual, queer, polyromantic and very into D/s. It uses it/hir pronouns, tends towards apathy and would like to resemble a spider much more closely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

